Tuesday, November 17, 2009

AL Cy Young

At 2pm today the AL Cy Young award will be announced. Who will be the winner? Some say that Zack Greinke will run away with it, while the other names being tossed around are Roy Halladay, Felix Hernandez, Justin Verlander, and C.C. SaFATASS. I know Geinke will probably get it because he was second in K's, shutouts, and complete games. Greinke was dominant all year, but can you give the award to a guy on a team that is horrible? I mean he is on one of the worst teams of the decade. Although he helped his team, they still suck. The Cy Young award is basically the MVP of pitching, and if your team is not good, then why would you be considered? As much as I hate to say it, I think that Sabathia is most deserving in the AL. He carried his team all the way to the World Series. I know that the postseason doesn't matter when factoring in for the award, but he came in and took control of a staff that was very suspect the year before and turned it around. Not only was he really good all year, but I think that he made the rest of the staff better too. Greinke was really good on a really bad team, but once again they were one of the worst teams in baseball this year. My vote would have to go Sabathia.


  1. Having great numbers with a bad team around you is more impressive than doing it with a $200 million payroll around you. Greinke also had a 2.19 ERA to Sabathia's 3.37. Without Sabathia's run support, he doesn't win 19 games and he isn't in the conversation.

    Greinke should win hands down, with Felix second.

  2. Greinke won in a landslide.

    Shows what you know, Sec202 - dipshit.